

THE STATES assembled on Tuesday 5th July 2022, at 9.30 a.m. under the Presidency of the Bailiff, Sir Timothy John Le Cocq.

All members were present at roll call.

Prayers

Standing Order 55A – remote participation

THE STATES, with reference to their Act dated 14th September 2021, in which they had agreed that, notwithstanding Standing Order 55A(1), members who did not wish to attend in the States Chamber might continue to take part in States meetings using Microsoft Teams (until the States had considered and voted upon a proposition to re-apply Standing Order 55A(1) or to repeal or vary the terms of the Standing Order), assembled in accordance with Standing Order 55A with members able to participate remotely using Microsoft Teams. No members participated remotely in the meeting.

Tribute to the late Mr. Gary Matthews, former member of the States

The Bailiff paid tribute to the late Mr. Gary Matthews, former Deputy of St. Brelade. The States observed one minute's silence as a mark of respect.

Chief Minister designate - nominations and selection

THE STATES noted that, in accordance with the provisions of Standing Order 115(1), two nominations had been received by the Greffier of the States for the office of Chief Minister designate, as follows –

Deputy Kristina Louise Moore of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter, nominated by –

Connétable Alan Simon Crowcroft of St. Helier

Connétable Richard Vibert of St. Peter

Connétable Karen Shenton-Stone of St. Martin

Connétable Andrew Nicholas Jehan of St. John

Connétable Marcus O'Donnel Troy of St. Clement

Connétable Mark Anthony Labey of Grouville

Connétable Richard Anthony Kingston Honeycombe of St. Ouen

Connétable Robert David Johnson of St. Mary

Deputy Carolyn Fiona Labey of Grouville and St. Martin

Deputy Louise Mary Catherine Doublet of St. Saviour

Deputy Kirsten Francis Morel of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity

Deputy Mary Rose Le Hegarat of St. Helier North

Deputy Stephen Morrison Ahier of St. Helier North

Deputy Inna Gardiner of St. Helier North

Deputy Ian Joseph Gorst of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter

Deputy Lyndon John Farnham of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter

Deputy Philip Francis Cyril Ozouf of St. Saviour

Deputy David James Warr of St. Helier South

Deputy Helen Mary Miles of St. Brelade

STATES MINUTES 5th July 2022

Deputy Jonathan Renouf of St. Brelade

Deputy Rosemary Binet of Grouville and St. Martin

Deputy Hilary Louise Jeune of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity

Deputy Margaret Elaine Millar of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity

Deputy Andrea Howell of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity

Deputy Thomas John Albert Binet of Grouville and St. Martin

Deputy Alexander Frederick Curtis of St. Clement

Deputy Barbara Ward of St. Clement

Deputy Karen Margaret Wilson of St. Clement

Deputy Lucy Kate Frances Stephenson of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter

Deputy Max Brennan Andrews of St. Helier North;

Deputy Samuel Yves Mézec of St. Helier South, nominated by -

Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier Central

Deputy Montfort Tadier of St. Brelade

Deputy Robert James Ward of St. Helier Central

Deputy Carina Soares Alves of St. Helier Central

Deputy Thomas Antony Coles of St. Helier South

Deputy Beatriz Borges de Sousa Vaz Moreno Porée of St. Helier South

Deputy Catherine Dolores Curtis of St. Helier Central

Deputy Lyndsay Victoria Feltham of St. Helier Central

Deputy Raluca Stefana Kovacs of St. Saviour.

In accordance with the provisions set out in Standing Order 116, the Bailiff invited the Greffier of the States to read out the nominations, following which lots were drawn to determine the order in which the candidates would speak for a period of up to 10 minutes and be questioned thereafter for a period of up to one hour by elected members. Deputy Kristina Louise Moore of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter was drawn first and Deputy Samuel Yves Mézec of St. Helier South was drawn second. Each candidate withdrew from the Chamber whilst the other spoke and answered questions during the periods allotted.

THE STATES, having proceeded to a recorded vote in accordance with Standing Order 116, were informed of the results by the Bailiff as follows –

Deputy Kristina Louise Moore of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter 39

Deputy Samuel Yves Mézec of St. Helier South

Members present voted as follows -

MEMBERS VOTING FOR DEPUTY MOORE (39 VOTES)

The Connétable of St. Helier

The Connétable of St. Lawrence

The Connétable of St. Brelade

The Connétable of Trinity

The Connétable of St. Peter

The Connétable of St. Martin

The Connétable of St. John

The Connétable of St. Clement

The Connétable of Grouville

The Connétable of St. Ouen

The Connétable of St. Mary

The Connétable of St. Saviour

Deputy C.F. Labey of Grouville and St. Martin

Deputy S.G. Luce of Grouville and St. Martin

STATES MINUTES 5th July 2022

Deputy L.M.C. Doublet of St. Saviour

Deputy K.F. Morel of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity

Deputy M.R. Le Hegarat of St. Helier North

Deputy S.M. Ahier of St. Helier North

Deputy I. Gardiner of St. Helier North

Deputy I.J. Gorst of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter

Deputy L.J. Farnham of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter

Deputy K.L. Moore of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter

Deputy P.F.C. Ozouf of St. Saviour

Deputy Sir P.M. Bailhache of St. Clement

Deputy D.J. Warr of St. Helier South

Deputy H.M. Miles of St. Brelade

Deputy M.R. Scott of St. Brelade

Deputy J. Renouf of St. Brelade

Deputy R.E. Binet of Grouville and St. Martin

Deputy H.L. Jeune of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity

Deputy M.E. Millar of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity

Deputy A. Howell of St. John, St. Lawrence and Trinity

Deputy T.J.A. Binet of St. Saviour

Deputy M.R. Ferey of St. Saviour

Deputy A.F. Curtis of St. Clement

Deputy B. Ward of St. Clement

Deputy K.M. Wilson of St. Clement

Deputy L.K.F. Stephenson of St. Mary, St. Ouen and St. Peter

Deputy M.B. Andrews of St. Helier North

MEMBERS VOTING FOR DEPUTY MEZEC (10 VOTES)

Deputy G.P. Southern of St. Helier Central

Deputy M. Tadier of St. Brelade

Deputy R.J. Ward of St. Helier Central

Deputy C.S. Alves of St. Helier Central

Deputy S.Y. Mézec of St. Helier South

Deputy T.A. Coles of St. Helier South

Deputy B.B.de S.V.M. Porée of St. Helier South

Deputy C.D. Curtis of St. Helier Central

Deputy L.V. Feltham of St. Helier Central

Deputy R.S. Kovacs of St. Saviour

THE STATES rose at 12.12 p.m.

L.-M. HART

Greffier of the States